About Us

Thank you for your interest in the

Northeast Missouri Area Health Education Center, Inc.!


To be the regional leader in developing a highly competent and diverse healthcare workforce for underserved populations in Northeast Missouri.


To enhance access to quality healthcare, particularly primary and preventative care, by growing and supporting Missouri’s healthcare workforce.


  • Promoting healthcare careers to youth;

  • Identifying and supporting existing and potential health professionals;

  • Promoting high-quality clinical education for health professions students; and

  • Partnering with state agencies and other organizations to promote overall improvement in community health status.

Our Story

NEMO AHEC was established in Macon, Missouri in 1989 in order to help reverse the decline in health care services, access, and opportunities for rural Missourians. The effort was led by the Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine as a result of funding from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resource Service Administration. Soon thereafter, a community board of governors was formed and the agency became incorporated as a public, non-profit entity.


As a public corporation, NEMO AHEC is governed by a community board of directors. We attempt to recruit board members who are passionate about rural health issues and who are connected to school districts, health care providers, economic development, local government, or industry. Our by-laws require board representations from throughout our 21-county service area as well as a blending of professional experiences. Positions are three-year appointments with the approval of the existing membership, and require a conflict of interest waiver. If you are interested in applying for a Board position, please contact Robin Dawson, Executive Director for more details.

Board of Directors

President - Vince Winn, MA, LPC, CRAADC, LNHA

Treasurer - Scott Jarvis

Secretary - Jeremy Randall

Jennifer Chinn, MBA, BSN, RN

Sarah Krouse

Tanya Taylor, BSN

April Dobrinske, BS, MPS

Ex-Officio Members:

Hong Chartrand, ATSU KCOM AHEC Program Director

Interested in serving as a NEMO AHEC board member?

Complete the form below, or contact Robin Dawson for more information at rdawson@nemoahec.org.